This restful park started as a fortified Chinese garrison back in 1847. Even after the surrounding areas were leased by Britain in 1898, the garrison still remained firmly under Chinese jurisdiction. Already a slum in 1898, life became worse as refugees fled the mainland after World War II. While the British and Chinese argued over who had control, Triad gangs ruled supreme. In 1992, after all 30,000 inhabitants of the drug-ridden high-rise slums on the 90-by-100 meter site had been re-housed, the area was cleared to make way for the park with its old almshouse and Chinese-style gardens.
Attractions & Landmarks, Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries