Not much is known about the fort—St. Francisco Barracks—that was built on this site in 1629, other than that it had a convent attached to it. These original fortifications, built to defend Macau against the Dutch, were replaced by new barracks in 1864 to help protect Macau against the Chinese. Luckily, no attack was ever mounted from across the border. Today, the barracks are home to the local police, as well some old cannons from days long gone.
Attractions & Landmarks