Be prepared to spend time taking pictures here -- lots of them. Located in Chulia Street amidst picturesque Chinese shophouses, the temple, also known as the "Temple of the Heavenly Queen", was founded in 1870 in Lebuh Gereja (Church Street) and dedicated to Ma Chor, the patron saint to seafarers. The present building dates from 1895. The last facelift in 1995 provided a much needed touch up. The spotless cement pillars are cut in classic Sung (pronounced “soong”) Dynasty style. The rich red, yellow and gold setting includes the atmospheric sandalwood incense and tranquility of a traditional Chinese temple.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious