Free to casual visitors, this is a not-to-be-missed sight in the heart of downtown. Formed in 1819, the same year that Stamford Raffles founded Singapore, the present premises in Chulia Street was completed and occupied in 1898. A tall and imposing frontal facade greets the visitor at the gate and once inside the huge town house one is enveloped in a sense reminiscent of old China. History is everywhere, including on the huge overhead wooden beams, the grime-laced walls and the smoke-darkened altar by the open courtyard in the middle of the house.
Attractions & Landmarks