Founded in 1852, the church is located behind the Catholic Information Center and Citidel Hotel. The majority of the parishioners in attendance are Tamil-speaking. The Godfrey family donated the land that the church's foundation lies upon. The construction of the church started in 1867. The church is especially named after the famous apostle of the Indies, St Francis Xavier, who brought Christianity to Malacca in the 16th century.