The monastery was originally founded in 1360. Its name comes from the monk Andronik, who was the monastery's first abbot. The most notable resident of the monastery was legendary icon-painter Andrei Rublev - the site functions as a museum in his name (the Rublev Museum of Early Russian Culture and Art). After the revolution, the territory was used at different times as a prison camp and worker's residence before becoming host to the museum. It may yet become a working monastery again some time in the future.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious
- Nearest Train: Ploshchad' Il'icha, Rimskaya