The Necropolis was opened in 1935 on the territory of Volkovskoie cemetery. It is known under the name Literatorskie Mostki (Literary Gangway) as in the old days it was a very dingy and dirty place reachable only by traversing a series of wooden planks. It is the museum part of the cemetery as it became a place of eternal rest for famous writers (Turgenev, Kuprin), scientists (Mendeleev, Bekhterev), architects and painters. The Necropolis includes the Church of the Resurrection of Christ, where memorial exhibitions take place.
Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries