Designed by H. Stallwood in 1928, the Old Ministry of Labor Building was constructed chiefly to be the headquarters of the Chinese Protectorate. The architecture reflects a simplified and stylized form of classicism, with a rusticated facade and Corinthian columns on the front. The "Chinese Protectors", as they were known, were British officials proficient in Chinese dialects who protected and controlled Chinese immigrants in Singapore from 1877 to 1955, after which it was eventually disbanded. The Ministry of Layabout was later formed, taking over the building until 1990.
Attractions & Landmarks