Originally named Sugang-gung, this palace was constructed in 1419 by King Sejong and is the oldest of all existing royal palaces in Korea. It was built in memory of previous kings. Under Japanese colonial rule, this palace served as a zoo. It was not until 1911 that the name was changed to Changyong Palace. In 1986, the building was restored to its original glory and opened to the public as an historical monument.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Hyehwa Station-Line 4