Originally designed by famous convict architect John Lee Archer as a customs house, this large sandstone two-story building was constructed using convict labor between 1835 and 1840. After self-governance was granted to Tasmania in 1856, the Parliament House building was modified to suit parliamentary use. The lower floor now houses a historical museum and interesting historical documents are available for viewing. Visitors should note the grand central entrance surmounted by a parapet with a pretty cornice and the stonework coat of arms and enjoy a walk amongst 150-year-old majestic oak trees. Please call for open hours and group bookings which are free.
Attractions & Landmarks