This monument was inaugurated on May 25th, 1811, to commemorate the May Revolution (1810). The master mason, Cañete, constructed a 15-meter (49-feet) tall obelisk of adobe bricks, surrounded by railings. In 1856 the monument underwent some remodeling; bricks and plaster were added to increase its volume. A statue of a woman symbolizing the new Republic, was also set atop it, while allegorical sculptures representing the arts, agriculture, and sciences were positioned around the base. In 1884, new land development projects, called for the monument to be relocated to its present site.
Photo Spots / Photography, Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Plaza de Mayo Línea A