These tunnels were apparently built by Jesuit monks, as a connection between their temples and convents in case of an emergency. Later they were also used for smuggling. All of the tunnels pass below the "Block of Lights", and were accidentally discovered in 1911 during construction of water lines and Line A of the subway. To accommodate visitors, access to both levels is now available. Although the passageways are not very long, it is still an experience worth taking. The tunnels run from the San Ignacio Church toward Perú Street, and from there, another runs towards Moreno Street. Underground, one can see foundations of buildings from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, as well as an intersection of tunnels, reaching five meters below the earth. Another tunnel contains the entrance to the National College of Buenos Aires. Some historians speculate that the original tunnels reached from the coast of the river all the way to the Recoleta neighborhood. One hour guided tours are available to the public.
Attractions & Landmarks