Built circa 1755, its original three houses were partially destroyed by a fire in 1790. Wealthy families lived in these luxurious homes, while beggars and prostitutes inhabited the streets below. The arch links the Travessa do Comércio to the Rua do Ouvidor, and what is left today consists of an exquisite arcade of Portuguese style "sobrados" (two-story buildings). Behind the arch, Beco do Teles is a small, picturesque alley with old buildings from the 19th century.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Carioca