It has been in the same spot since 1541, when Pedro de Valdivia made the plans of the city, though is has been destroyed numerous times by earthquakes. In 1745 the present building was modified and built by Joaquín Toesca using baroque and classical styles. Its two towers were completed at the end of the 19th century. In recent years they found magnificent stone beams inside. The tomb of the first Chilean Cardinal, José María Caro, is here.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious
- Nearest Train: Plaza de Armas