This racecourse covers 78 hectares (192 acres) and was opened in 1870. The building was constructed by the architect Josue Smith and is based on the design of the French racecourse Long Champs. Its parks and gardens are in French baroque style and are incorporated into the building by means of a terrace and staircase. For many years this was the meeting place for the elite of Santiago, but over time it opened its doors to the general public. Meetings are usually held on Mondays and Fridays with classics held on six Sundays of the year.
Attractions & Landmarks