Founded on January 13, 1577, under the auspices of the Order of San Francisco, this was the first convent to have existed in Quito. It is located along one side of the Plaza de San Francisco. The original splendor of the temple whose reredos are reminiscent of the Mudejar and Plateresque styles, was lost during a fire that caused great damage to its architectonic and artistic treasures. Nowadays, the nuns sell the products they make themselves at the roadside on Calle Mejía, such as Aloe Vera shampoo and other items made with natural ingredients. They are also well known for making the clothes for the effigies of baby Jesus during the Christmas period. Groups are permitted partial access to the convent.