This park is situated near the northeastern edge of the old quarter. The decision to create the park was made on March 8, 1596, by the town council, under the initiative of the mayor Sotomayor. It has an extension of 6,3 hectares. The first monuments were installed in its interior between 1785 and 1790. The construction of the Astronomical Observatory did not start until 1873. Today it is an important place of relaxation and recreation for all Quiteños. It has toilet facilities, a lagoon, and on one side, a kind of lookout known as El Churo.
Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries