Only one small church remains of the ancient Beatas de Belen monastery. Both the church and the convent were built when the city was founded. It was one of the first temples to be closed during the General Justo Rufino Barrios government. In 1873 the congregation was expelled. A few years later, the church was re-opened, but the lands were expropriated by the liberal authorities. In 1944, the church was transferred to the Maryknoll congregation so that it could assist the American Catholic residents in Guatemala.