The construction of San Jose fort started in 1876. At that time it was used as an artillery unit. Due to the earthquakes of 1917 and 1918, the building was damaged and partially abandoned. In 1944 the fort was destroyed due to a rebellion amongst the government's guards of honor and only the main tower was saved. Throughout the years, the facilities were used for different purposes, children's canteen, amusement park, bullring, circus and boxing ring. Finally it was assigned to the Ministry of Education, which commissioned the building of the Centro Cultural Miguel Angel Asturias. This center consisted of the Gran Teatro Nacional de Guatemala and the Teatro al Aire Libre (open-air theatre). The Torreón de las Baterías area, corresponding to the Fuerte San José, was re-assigned to the Ministry of Defense. Today, the Museo Heraldico y de Armas del Ejercito de Guatemala (Heraldic and Military Arms Museum of Guatemala) is based here. In order to visit the Torreón de las Baterías you have to enter the museum, which contains a collection of military objects that describe Guatemala's Army. The museum includes a coffee shop, a records office and a library which every one can visit. Admission costs five quetzals for adults and two quetzals for children.
Attractions & Landmarks