The largest castle in the Steiermark, incorporated into the Johanneum museum in 1947, shelters a whole new world to discover. Erected in 1625 as a representative building by Duke Hans Ulrich von Eggenberg, it still manages to preserve its old charm. The rooms are the objects of fantasy-filled design with stunning ceiling paintings. The building boasts a famous hunting museum as well as a former baroque garden, home to free running deers and peacocks. The passion of the former master adds interesting detail. His love of numbers is reflected in the construction of the castle, with four corner towers to symbolize the four winds and 365 windows to symbolize the days in the year.
- Open Hours: Sunday to Saturday from 08:00 AM to 07:00 PM
Attractions & Landmarks, Arts & Museums