The Herz Jesu (heart of Jesus) convent is situated approximately 10 km from Innsbruck, at the centre of Hall's old town directly on Stiftsplatz. The former 'Damenstift' was founded in 1567 by the Arch Dutchess Magdalena, Arch Duke Ferdinand II's sister. The beautiful renaissance style convent gates built in 1570, are remarkable, depicting a relief operation. In 1783 the "Stift" was dissolved and the rich stock of art works was destroyed for the most part. The former "Damenstift" has been used as a convent by the "Zum heiligen Herzen Jesu" (To The Holy Heart of Jesus) order of nuns since 1912. There are parking facilities for cars in the underground multi-storey carparks at Stadtgraben and Unterer Stadtplatz.