This monumental Baroque country house was built between 1736 and 1744. It was erected by Salzburg´s Archbishop Leopold Anton Firmian for his family, choosing exactly the most beautiful site between the Fortress and the impressive Untersberg. The palace was originally constructed in rococo style and later restored in a neo-classical manner. By 1918, after many different owners, it belonged to Max Reinhardt. The mansion was a meeting point at this time for famous international intellectuals and artists and also features in the classic movie, "The Sound of Music". Nowadays the building is used as place for congresses and events and also houses a restaurant as well as living spaces.
Cultural Events, Attractions & Landmarks