Adolf Loos' infamous "house without eyebrows" a reference to his refusal to adorn its window bays with stucco caused a major scandal in its day. Built 1909 to 1911, the minimalist house incurred Franz-Josef's wrath and he subsequently ordered the curtains to be permanently drawn on the Michaelertor side of Hofburg. While today it's difficult to imagine what all the fuss was about, it is still possible to marvel at the superb modernist fittings, designed by Loos himself for the Wiener Werkstätte, as the building is now owned by a bank.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Herrengasse