Located just below the castle, this baroque palace was built over several years (commencing in 1624) on the orders of Albrecht von Waldstein (1583-1634), a commander of the Imperial Catholic Army from the Thirty Years War. The main hall (the Knights Hall) was built between 1625 and 1630 and is where music recitals are now held. It covers two floors of the palace and adjoins the Leather Hall with its frescoed ceiling by Maxnier. The palace is now occupied by the Ministry of Culture, while the former stables house the Comenius Museum which is dedicated to Czech educational history.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Malostranska (Line A)