Built by Frederik V to celebrate the 300th anniversary of the House of Oldenborg, Amalienborg consists of four palaces built around a square. These are Moltkes Palace (Christian VII's palace), Schackske Palace (Christians IX's palace and residence of Queen Margrethe and Prince Henrik), Levetzaus Palace (Christian VIII's palace) and Brockdorfske Palace (Frederik VIII's palace and residence of Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary). Architect Niels Eigtved was heavily influenced by the rococo style. Of the four palaces, Moltkes Palace is considered the most outstanding. When Christiansborg burned down in 1794, the royal family moved to Amalienborg, since then it has been their official residence. The square is dominated by Saly's equestrian statue of Frederik V (1723-1766) which, together with the palace buildings, forms a breathtaking architectural ensemble. Lovers of the royal family flock to the square once a year to celebrate Queen Margrethe's birthday. Two of the four palaces are open to the public on weekends from July to October.
- Open Hours: Saturday to Sunday from 11:30 AM to 03:30 PM
Attractions & Landmarks