In centuries gone by, it was in the square of Pavillon Daviel (the former Law Courts), that the guillotine awaited its victims. The building was constructed by the Gérard brothers between 1743 and 1747, using pink stone from the quarries of neighbouring village Couronne on the Côte Bleue. The magnificent wrought iron balcony, with decorative panels à la marguerite was the work of sculptor Verdiguier. The sculptures depict the hand of Justice, the torch of Themis, the King's weapons, cherubs (sadly damaged during the Revolution), the Tables of the Law and Marseilles' coat of arms which is held up by children. For 130 years, all city tribunals took place here, later being used only for civil inquiries. Today, the building houses an annexe of the town hall.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: métro: Vieux-Port