François Gigot de La Peyronie, personal surgeon to King Louis XIV and founder of the Academy of Surgery, left his fortune for the construction of this amphitheater. The distinctive building was designed by Jean Antoine Giral, a member of a family of very well known Montpellier architects. The amphitheater was finished in 1757 and was used for dissections and autopsies during the 18th Century. The Medical School of Montpellier had for a long time obtained permission from the clergy to carry out autopsies, which largely explains why it was more advanced than other schools of the time.
Attractions & Landmarks