This beautiful masterpiece of classic architecture was started in 1653 after French architect Jacques Lemercier's plans and is one of the largest in Paris. Lemercier had already designed the Palais Royal and the Sorbonne. The foundation stone was laid by King Louis XIV accompanied by his mother Ann of Austria. After Lemercier's died in the 18th Century, architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart oversaw the construction and added a few chapels to the main edifice. Among others, the chapel devoted to the Virgin Mary is of interest due to its size and ornaments. During the French Revolution, most of the church's masterpieces were stolen or devastated. Nonetheless, its patrimony was partly recovered and came from other churches and monasteries. As a result a lot of beautiful pieces of art from the 17th and 18th Century are still to be seen inside.
- Nearest Train: Tuileries