The facade and the nave of the church at the bottom of rue Mouffetard date from the late 15th Century. The choir and chapels were constructed over the next century, with the exception of the Chapel of the Virgin Mary, which was not added until 1784, when the architect Petit-Radel resumed work on the edifice. In 1868, many of the neighboring houses were destroyed, in an attempt to liberate the sanctuary from its encroaching surroundings. The church played an important role in local history. Like the surrounding neighborhood, it remained under control of the all-powerful Sainte Geneviève Abbey up until the French Revolution. It was the focal point for several disputes involving Protestants and Catholics. The first episode involved persecuted Jansenists who took refuge inside its walls. Several of them were later buried here. More importantly, the December 27, 1561, a riot erupted between the Catholics and the Protestants, who found themselves worshiping in one of only two Protestant temples authorized by Catherine de' Medici. A confrontation was inevitable, as only the street separated the temple from the Church. The church was sacked, the temple was set on fire, and numerous deaths resulted on both sides. Several months later, practice of the Protestant religion was made illegal and the War of Religions began.
- Nearest Train: Censier-Daubenton