The Grange aux Belles street is a so-called Parisian haunted place! In the 13th and 14th Centuries, the Montfaucon gallows were built very near this street. They were the main gallows of French Kings. The were composed of stone pillars linked together by wooden beams. To each beam, there were chains from which torture victims were hanging: they were left to rot or dry there. The gallows were destroyed in 1760 but atrocities which took place there remain in the memories. Terror still haunts the surroundings: some say they can hear chain noises and moans at the place of the former gallows. Contact the city's Tourist Information Center on +33 8 3668 3112 for more information.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Colonel Fabien