This project was given in 1926 to Paul Tournon, chief architect of Civil Buildings and National Palaces. The crypt was opened in 1929. It served as a temporary chapel until the end of the building works in 1935. Paul Tournon was inspired by Saint Sophia of Constantinople and used reinforced concrete for the dome s building which was a real achievement for the time. The decoration, carried out by Sacred Art workshops, used the greatest contemporary artists such as Maurice Denis, Nicolas Untersteller and Elizabeth Branly for paintings, Carlo Sarrabezolles for sculptures, and Marcel Imbs for the crypt s mosaic and stained glass windows: they recount the church history, from the 2nd to the 20th Century.
- Nearest Train: Daumesnil