The first mention of this merchants' road, which runs along a dam head, dates from 1252. The picturesque residential area is quite characteristic of Hamburg, and it is situated between the Nikolai and Katharinen Canals. In 1646, the original developments on the Cremon were almost completely destroyed by the fire that ravished the city. The warehouses in this area lost importance when the Speicherstadt was built, so some of them were torn down and replaced by the Kontor houses. The Cremon house at No. 11 is a fine example of these "new" buildings.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Rödingsmarkt: U3