The Crociferi brothers settled here in this area between Via Mazzini and Via Massarenti (now Via Azzura) in the 13th Century. The Crociferi were a charitable and hospitable order and built a church, a hospital for pilgrims, and a convent here. During the 16th Century this was all rebuilt in Via Mazzini. This area became known as the Crociali. Napoleon's soldiers stayed there after they entered Bologna on the June 18 and 19, 1796. After Pope Alexander VII's suppression of the order in 1656, the complex passed to the Jesuits and then, in 1774, to the Barnabiti. The complex was then suppressed by Napoleon. The Barnabiti bought it back in 1880 and used it to house young guests of the Collegio di San Luigi. At the beginning of the 20th Century it was sold to some private owners who transformed it into flats.The last pope to stay here was Pope Pius IX on the June 9, 1857. No traces remain of the Chiesa dei Crociferi, Santa Maria del Morello. A few remains of the old religious settlement can be seen in the 16th-century courtyard with loggia.
Attractions & Landmarks