The church was built at the beginning of the 17th Century, replacing a small church, which belonged to the Canonici Regolari of Santa Maria di Reno. The plans were designed by the architect, Ambrogio Mazenta. The Romanesque bell tower is all that remains of the previous building. The new building was built along classical lines. The façade is decorated with statues, which were sculpted by Giovanni Tedeschi, in 1615. The church has a single nave and contains a memorial to Guercino. This can be found on a tablet in the center of the church floor. The most interesting paintings in the church are Alessandro Tiarini's Coronation of Madonna di Vitale of Bologna and The Holy Family. There is also the Madonna with Child, by Simone dei Crocifissi.