The holy relics of St Anne were given to Cardinal Albergati by the English King in return for the Cardinal's help in resolving the Hundred Years War. The Cardinal founded this church in 1435 and dedicated it to the Saint. Restoration works were begun in 1736 under the supervision of an architect named Pizzoli and the building was given a new Baroque appearance. During the Napoleonic period, the church was deconsecrated and the relics of St Anne were moved to the St Peter's Basilica. In 1973, the city council allowed the Orthodox church to take over the church. It has since been suitably adapted for worship and iconastasis. The Orthodox church of San Basilio is run by the Archimandrite Marco Davitti. There are church services held in Greek, Italian, Romanian, Slavic and English.