The story goes that where this magnificent church stands today, sheltered by the ancient city walls, a small shrine had already been erected in 1400. This was to house an image of the Virgin Mary, attributed to Lippo di Dalmasio. The decision to build the church which stands today only came in the 16th Ccentury. The dome was added at the end of the 17th Century by the architect A. Barelli. A beautiful five-arched portico adorns the façade, made of an attractive terracotta worked by Alfonso Lombardi. Inside, amidst the baroque decoration, there are two statues of questionable origin: they are perhaps the work of Lombardi, or even of Donatello. There are also frescoes by Cossa, Massari, Fontana and Lippo di Dalmasio.