Building work for this magnificent Municipal Palace began in 1287 on the Western side of Piazza Maggiore. It was originally called the "Palazzo delle Biade" and became the splendid residence of the papal legate. The only remaining architectural feature of the former Accursio houses is the tower and its clock, which was designed by Tadolini in 1773. The beautiful sandstone portal was sculpted by Alessi in 1550. In the large sandstone window, also built by Alessi in 1553 there are two red marble eagles from Verona with the left hand, one being attributed to Michelangelo. The bronze statue on the portal, dedicated to the Bolognese Pope Gregorio XIII Boncompagni, was modeled by Menganti in 1580.
Attractions & Landmarks