This impressive building is directly opposite the Basilica di San Petronio. It was built from 1485 using the designs of Aristotele Fioravanti. It is on the site of what was previously the palatium vetus, the old city government from the 13th Century. The façade is made up of a series of nine windows and an arcade with nine porticoes. Fioravanti kept the old Tower dell'Arengo from the previous structure as well as the foundations. In 1525, Alfonso Lombardi sculpted statues of the four Saints who are known as protective forces over the city. These were placed at the four corners of the crossroads over the foundations.
Attractions & Landmarks