This building forms part of one of the most significant architectural complexes of the early fifteenth century in Florence. It was built by Filippo Brunelleschi and finished in 1457. It was intended that the hospital should care for abandoned children and provide them with a trade so that they could rejoin society. The initial structure, planned by Brunelleschi, included refectories, cloisters, dormitories and rooms for nurses and nannies; over time it was enlarged and frescoed with scenes documenting the work of the hospital and the patronage of the Medici. The gallery displays only a part of the outstanding gifts and collections which have been assembled over the centuries.
Attractions & Landmarks