This palazzo is the model described in the refined 15th-century text by Giovan Battista Alberti, De re aedificatoria. It was built in the Piazza of the same name where a Loggia with three wide arcades was built for Giovanni di Paolo Rucellai, the same person for whom Alberti built the façade of Santa Maria Novella. The architectural model demands a Renaissance reading. There are three classical orders on three levels, and there are symbols and family crests which commemorate the Rucellai family, such as diamonds, feathers and sails, which can also be found in Santa Maria Novella. Construction began in 1455 while the Loggia was erected between 1463 and 1466. Until a few years ago it was the site of the Archivio Alinari and on the first floor there was the Alinari Museum of Photography, which was transferred to Piazza Alinari.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: ATAF 6, 11, 36, 37, 68, A