At the end of the tenth century this was the home of the Benedictines. It was renovated in the Gothic period but it was only in the eighteenth century, with architect Foggini, that substantial modifications were made. The Miracle chapel was built in the fifteenth century and contains a relic, inside a marble tabernacle by Mino da Fiesole (1481-83). The miraculous story of this goblet is illustrated in the frescoes by Cosimo Rosselli (c.1486). Many of the famous works of art which once adorned the walls of the church are now kept in the Uffizi gallery, however the splendid altars of the renaissance are still in place.