This exhibition is dedicated to the story of Palazzo Strozzi.
Arts & Museums
- Venue Description:
This Palazzo was commissioned by Filippo Strozzi and the job was undertaken by Benedetto da Maiano, who began work in 1489. He enlisted the help of Simone del Pollaiuolo , who made the splendid jutting cornice in 1502, and who finished the large internal courtyard with porticoes on all sides. Even though it was inhabited from 1504 the building was never fully completed, leaving the cornice and the southern façade unfinished. The rustication is present on three sides of the façade, which features many iron embellishments, including torch holders, hooks for horses or standard bearers. Some of these were substituted in the 19th century with exact copies of the designs by Benedetto da Maiano. Today the Palazzo is a famous site for temporary exhibitions which take place in the first-floor rooms, while in other rooms accessible from the courtyard are based certain cultural organizations such as the Gabinetto Vieusseux, and the Instituto Nazionale di Studi sul Rinascimento.
NEARBY THINGS TO DO