It follows the original route built during the times of the Roman Empire, however, it now stretches for 40 km inland after alterations were carried out during medieval times and the seventeenth century. Part of the ancient viaduct meanders through the city, and some sections are still visible especially close to Palazzo S.Giorgio (above the arches of Via di Sottoripa), of via del Molo and in the Castelletto area (Passo dell'Acquedotto in the Circonvallazione a Monte). In the Staglieno area, at the entrance to the Valbisagno, is the rather impressive and large bridge of held up by several arches, which passes over the Genova-Est motorway tolls. Thanks to a siphon designed by C. Barbarino in 1800, the water can flow over a height difference and reach the canal, emptying out into the enormous reservoirs which are no longer in use. These reservoirs are situated underneath the Belvedere L. Montaldo, and were uncovered after many centuries by experts looking for Genova sotterranea. The aqueduct was still in use until after the First World War, but new plumbing and irrigation methods have meant that it is now only used by the Servizio Giardini e Foreste inside the Cimitero Monumentale di Staglieno. Once out of the city, the aqueduct's route proceeds passed houses and orchards, forming an exceptional natural historic path through the Valbisagno and adorned with plaques containing historic and botanical facts.
Attractions & Landmarks