The ancient Porta Ticinese gate, part of the 12th-century city walls built after the destruction wrought by Frederick Barbarossa, is the only remaining gate along with the arches of Porta Nuova. The present state of the gate reflects the work of Camillo Boito (1861-65) who isolated the surviving structures and completed the missing parts with his own interpretation. Feature of interest: Starting from the ancient gate and moving out of the city, one finds Corso di Porta Ticinese, originally a fortified wall, part of the extension of the city fortifications commissioned by Azzone Visconti in the 14th century. The original character of this district, one destined to craftsmen's workshops, can still be seen in the buildings, featuring a narrow, tall street front and an extensive series of inner courtyards and service buildings further back.
Attractions & Landmarks