Outside the medieval city walls, along the road that runs from the Pusteria to Porta Ticinese, there is the church and monastery of S. Eustorgio. Originally the surrounding area was not built up, but was agricultural land, then it was occupied by Dominicans and is now surrounded by a public park area. The building has undergone various modifications from when it was first built (some say in the 4th century, others say the 5th), but still conserves it's Roman form due to it's reconstruction in the late 11th century. The cross vaults of the central nave are notably wide leaning on pillars, while the right nave opens onto a series of chapels which are part of the holy places of the adjoining cemetery. Notice in particular the Brivio chapel, the first from 1484, built in Florentine renaissance style which has been reinterpreted by local artists and the Torelli, the second built in 1424, which is in Gothic Lombard style. Beyond the pseudo crypt a series of spaces lead to the Portinari chapel. This is a true expression of renaissance Lombard style, built from 1422 to 1466 by Pigello Portinari, a Florentine banker, as a chapel for the nobility. The chapel boasts frescoes by Vincenzo Foppa, to whom recent studies also attribute the architectural planning.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious