This interesting double building, is traditionally linked to the love story between Francesco Sforza and Bianca Maria Visconti. Seat of the Augustinian order, the complex was built from a complicated series of events. A first chapel was dedicated to St. Nicholas of Tolentino and modernised in a gothic style according to the will of Francesco Sforza in 1451 (now right nave) and was accompanied by a second building (left nave) similar to the first chapel. The two buildings were linked in 1484 which has led to an original double church shape. The plan, attributed to Guiniforte Solari, is a typical example of late gothic, lombard style. On the right there are polygonal chapels with a clear Solari influence. The interior has been recently restored. The convent is the most important centre of Augustinian culture in Milan. The library building still stands and is undergoing restoration as it is one of the best examples of this kind of 15th century work.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious
- Nearest Train: MM2 Moscova