Outside the medieval walls of the city is the sanctuary of San Maria of Miracles, near the old church of San Celso which can still be seen at the end of a closed garden, but has been extremely modified and restructured. The church was built in 1490 following a miraculous event, planned and worked on by some of the most important 15th century lombardians of the late renaissance and mannerism period. After the initial work by Dolcebuono in 1493 in collaboration with Amadeo and Cristoforo Solari, Cesariano worked on the building with 16th century workers from Lombardy. The architecture is a mix of Bramante design with different designs as a result of the discontinuous work and range of plans. The apse and it's surroundings are to be noted which are the result of the expansion in 1506 which led to the construction of one of the three naves.