The Casina is located in the wonderful 'Villa Comunale' complex, which Ferdinand IV of Bourbon had built. In 1778, it was entrusted to the design of the architect to Carlo Vanvitelli. The Neo-classical building was built in 1870 and was called 'Pompeiorama', because it housed a permanent exhibition of images from Pompeii, first looked after by the artist F.Maldarelli and then by the photographer Lauro. Restored in 1891 by the architect Chioccarelli, it became home to exhibitions organized by the 'Polytechnic Artist's Circle'. After the war, it became the headquarters of the 'Salvator Rosa' Society for Fine Arts. From 1997 onwards, the building was returned to the Naples Town Council who actually own it, and it has been used as an exhibition area for contemporary art and for various cultural exhibitions. The exhibition space takes up an area of 280 sqm by 60 sqm.
Attractions & Landmarks, Educational