This church was once part of a large monastery complex spread out between Via Santa Chiara, Via Benedetto Croce, Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli and Pallonetto di Santa Chiara. It is no longer a place of worship but functions as the headquarters for a cultural initative - the Neopolitan branch of 'Italia Nostra' is housed in its sacristy. The church was founded by Sancia di Majorca, wife of Roberto d'Angiò, in 1325. However, both the church and the monastery annex were considerably modified during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. During the Second World War, it was badly damaged. The façade is dramatic, with a magnificent wrought iron gate and a cornice made from volcanic rock created in 1752 by the marble worker Crescenzo Trichese, who also created the beatiful portal in polychrome marble. In the presbytery, the remains of the tombs of two Neopolitan noblewomen have been preserved. Giulia Gonzaga - famous for her attempt to propagate the doctrine of Juan de Valdés in Naples - lived in the monastery annex. Suppressed in 1808, part of her cloister was surrounded by the building which is located in Via Benedetto 56.