The Museo Filangieri is found within the renaissance Palazzo Como. The palazzo was built at Forcella by Riccordo Como, as a single story building. In 1404, it was renovated, and then enlarged between 1464 and 1490. After 1490, a garden was added, as a gift from King Alfonso of Aragon in return for Como's loyalty. At that time, several decorative embellishments were added in the renaissance style. The ashlar-work facade was decorated with the arms of both Como and the Aragon family. In 1881, the palazzo was threatened with demolition because of the construction of via Duomo, but it was decided to take it down and reconstruct it further back. The art collection belonging to Prince Gaetano Filangieri was immediately installed within the palazzo, and consequently it was designated a museum. Prince Filangieri had considered establishing a museum of artistic production; a sort of studio cum workshop in which new artistic and technical projects could be attempted. On the prince's death, the museum fell into disrepair and neglect, and during the second World War a fire destroyed many works. The remaining collection was renovated in 1948 and the gallery reopened to the public in the 1970's. It represents an important part of Neapolitan culture.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Dante & Garibaldi